top of page

Chia Seed Pudding with a Twist: Shakeology & Cayenne

The idea of spicy chocolate kinda sounds appealing to me because I saw a recipe in a bar book with hot chocolate with cayenne pepper. I thought that perhaps I could take this concept and turn it into something healthy. I had seen chia seed pudding on pinterest and thought that would be something healthy and fun to make.

My first attempt failed miserably, I mean this pudding was not a pudding at all. The reason it failed was because my ratio of chia seed to milk was not right. I decided to read up on what the perfect ratio is and gave it another shot. The ratio that seemed to work the best was 1/4 cup of chia seeds to 1 cup of milk (any type of milk). I used coconut milk for my recipe and thought it turned out wonderful! I let the mixture sit overnight and it was a great snack to take to work or just have around the house.

Chia seeds will give a tapioca type of texture to the pudding and so if you want it less thick add more milk, if you want it thicker add more seeds!

Recipe:

2 cups of milk

1/2 cup of chia seeds

1 cup of chocolate Shakeology

1/2 teaspoon of cayenne

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 teaspoon of nutmeg

1 teaspoon of maple syrup

I mix everything together really well and let it sit overnight. I garnished it with dried raspberries and shredded white chocolate for extra flavor and beauty.

I loved making something like this because it was healthy (shakeology!) and super tasty. It is hard to find healthy pudding that taste good but this recipe actually blew me away!

Getting chia seeds into our diet has been a bigger focus lately because those little seeds contain so many nutrients that hardly any other food can provide in such a small serving. I guess it's a good thing I spend my time looking at Aztec hot chocolate recipes because it certainly sparked me getting creative with my chia seed pudding.

xoxo

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page