top of page

Cinco de Mayo: Reason to Cook & Eat Large Amounts of Mexican Food


Growing up in Texas has been a wonderful experience for many reasons, but today I am focusing on just one: Mexican food.

Tex-Mex is very different than food in Mexico, New Mexico and California. I feel like it has more cheese, perhaps more grease and just seems less spicy. Since I try to eat healthy I had to find a way to make my own Mexican food that was just as tasty, but significantly healthier. Cinco de Mayo has inspired me to have a month long celebration of homemade Mexican food and I will be sharing my favorite recipes. Even though I am NOT Mexican, I feel like everything I have made has tasted wonderful and if you truly take offense to this white girl claiming to make Mexican food, let's just call it Mexican-inspired then. =]

My first celebratory dish is cilantro rice! I must admit that I saw a magazine in Sprouts last week that was completely mexican food themed and saw a green rice recipe. It had many more peppers than I could handle so I decided to use it as inspiration but change the recipe based on what I like, which is what I suggest you do too.

This recipe is super simple, delicious and inexpensive.

2 cups of white rice (I prefer jasmine)

2 cups of fresh cilantro

1 cup of spinach

1 cup of lime juice (I used 3 limes)

1.5 cups of water

1 tbls of cumin powder

1/4 cu of olive oil

dash of pepper/salt

1/2 cup of fresh onion

I combined the cilantro, water, oil, onion (uncooked), cumin, pepper, and lime juice all in a blender and mixed until the leaves were completely blended. You can add more water if you prefer it to be a little runnier; I wanted this to be something the rice absorbed as opposed to a paste.

To cook the rice I used the ratio of 2 cups of water to every 1 cup of rice due to the high absorption rate jasmine rice has. It usually takes me about 10 minutes to cook this rice. After the rice was finished I immediately poured the cilantro lime mix over the rice and stirred well, watching the rice turn a beautiful green. The flavor was phenomenal and it was easier than I expected. I think you could modify this recipe by adding other herbs, peppers and spices that you like and prefer. I could eat cilantro by itself so this mix was perfect for me, but it is so simple go ahead and experiment for yourself!

Happy celebrating!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page